Pu’u Ohulehule Hiking Trail

I did this trail in the Christmas holidays of 2014. My buddy JC hit me up since he was planing to do this hike but did not want to do it alone, so I joined him. I am glad I joined him because this is one of the most challenging and rewarding hikes I have ever done in Oahu. The trail is challenging because it is steep at the end and almost 80% of it the shrubs are overgrown. So bring pants and also mosquito repellent. You will have to cross three streams so be ready to soak your shoes in the water. Initially, I was worried for the water in my shoes. But I found myself more focused on the trail and the shrubs, and immediately forgot about my wet shoes. This trail will require a lot of endurance and depending on your pace it will take around 8 hours to complete the hike.

Curious fact: a couple of days after I completed the hike, I learned that two Danish females that got lost for a week in this trail in 1999. 

Trailhead is located at the end of the Kahana Valley Road, in the northeast side of the island of Oahu, in Hawaii.

To get there you will have to take 83 Kamehameha Highway. And if you are coming from the south, take the second exit to the left after passing the Crouching Lion.

Take the Kahana Valley Road from 83. Drive through the neighborhood for a about 5 minutes until you see a sign asking hikers to park there. This is the designated visitor center parking lot. Hikers should park here and continue walking for about two miles until you see the hunter checking area. Sign in and take the left walking down and shortly you will see the first stream.

This is the hunter checking area after walking about two miles trough the neighboorhood:

Photo Dec 27, 9 37 54 AM

 

First stream:

 

Photo Dec 27, 9 42 59 AM

 

A swing in the first stream

Photo Dec 27, 9 45 57 AM

 

Second stream:

Photo Dec 27, 9 56 09 AM

 

Third stream:

 

Photo Dec 27, 10 29 17 AM

 

We called this fruit “Capulines” in my hometown in Mexico. I had several of these in the trail. So yummy.

 

Photo Dec 27, 10 08 21 AM

 

I was wondering: is that skirt for the tree to protect itself from the animals or to keep the balance?

 

Photo Dec 27, 10 14 48 AM

 

JC making his way into the shrubs:

 

Photo Dec 27, 11 01 30 AM

 

Luckily there are some ropes to help to go up to the mountain:

 

Photo Dec 27, 12 47 27 PM

 

More ropes:

Photo Dec 27, 11 12 55 AM

 

 

The view on the way up of Ohulehule:Photo Dec 27, 3 35 25 PM

This is the view at the top of Ohulehule (click to see the picture in full resolution):

Photo Dec 27, 1 46 11 PM

 

And here I am, exhausted but all smiles, as usual:

Photo Dec 27, 1 19 41 PM

 

Enjoy the trail. Mahalo!

 

 

 

Leave a comment